A Century of Knox’s Headquarters Preservation


By on

Knox HeadquartersA celebration of a century of preservation at Knox’s Headquarters in Vails Gate has been set for August 4th.

Preservation focused house tours, badminton and croquet, and tours of the Jane Colden Native Plant Sanctuary will be held from 5 to 8 pm. A showing of the 1949 romantic comedy In The Good Old Summertime will be held on the lawn at 8:15 pm.

The stone 1754 John Ellison House, headquarters for Generals Nathanael Greene, Henry Knox and Horatio Gates during the American Revolution, is in a remarkable state of preservation. Visitors can learn how self-imposed restraints by owners and limited change over the years allows New York State to present this house little different from when general officers of the Continental Army made it their residence.

The Beach family: Dwight, Augusta and daughter Constance, the last private owners of the property, left behind a remarkable photo album documenting life on “Glenn Knox Farm” in the first two decades of the twentieth century. This record of daily life is a reminder that while the house was a scene of historic importance, it was also a home for several families over its lengthy existence.

Knox’s Headquarters is located at 289 Forge Hill Road, at the intersection of Forge Hill Road and Blooming Grove Turnpike (Route 94) in Vails Gate.

This event is free and open to the public. For more information call (845) 561-1765 ext. 22.

Photo by Daniel Case

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *