The Newburgh Historical Society’s annual Candlelight Tour will take place this year on Sunday, December 14th. The self-guided tour takes place between 12 noon and 5 pm and includes over a dozen decorated homes. The authentically decorated 1830 Captain David Crawford House is the starting place for the Tour.
The house circuit features a diverse assortment of public and private spaces, including mansions, structures in the rehabilitation process, new construction, architectural gems, and some of Newburgh’s most important landmarks.
The Historical Society’s mission is to promote an appreciation for the region’s architectural significance. The annual Candlelight Tour of Homes showcases Newburgh as a center of architectural variety and beauty. For years, community members within the second largest historic district in New York State have generously decorated and opened their homes to visitors in support of local history.
Tickets can be purchased online through the Society’s website or by calling (845) 561-2585. Visitors can save $5 off the regular $30 ticket price by purchasing tickets in advance. A guide booklet and a custom map will be provided to add historical context and enrich the visitor experience.
The Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands was launched unofficially when the Hasbrouck House (Washington’s Headquarters Newburgh) was in danger of demolition after the Revolutionary War. The current Society, incorporated in 1884, has always been an advocate for Newburgh’s history. Society headquarters, the 1830 Captain David Crawford House, was purchased by the Society in 1954 to save it from demolition, symbolizes their dedication to preserving and protecting Newburgh’s assets.
The Crawford House, located at 189 Montgomery Street within the City of Newburgh’s Historic District, is open for tours by appointment during the winter season. View the “Made in Newburgh” exhibit, a temporary exhibit open through the Candlelight Tour. Admission is $5.00 per person or as part of the Candlelight Tour ticket price. For more information about admission, tours, or programming please call (845) 561-2585.
Photos: The Crawford House interior front parlor (photo by Thomas Knieser).