NYSHA Annual Publication Awards Announced

By on

Armory Show BookThe New York State Historical Association will announce the winners of its three annual publication awards at its 111th Annual Meeting on July 17.

The winner of the 2014 Henry Allen Moe Prize for Catalogs of Distinction in the Arts is The Armory Show at 100: Modernism and Revolution by Marilyn Satin Kushner, Curator and Head, Department of Prints, Photographs, and Architectural Collections at New-York Historical Society and Kimberly Orcutt, Henry Luce Foundation Curator of American Art at New-York Historical Society.

The Paul S. Kerr History Prizeis awarded each year to the best article published in The New York State Historical Association’s quarterly journal, New York History. The 2014 award was given to,Not Confined to the Village Clearings: Indian Women in the Fur Trade in Colonial New York, 1695-1732, by Kees-Jan Waterman and Joel Noel.

The Dixon Ryan Fox Manuscript Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best unpublished, book-length monograph dealing with some aspect of the history of New York State. The 2014 prize was awarded to Nelson Rockefeller, Racial Politics, and the Undoing of Moderate Republicanism, by Marsha Barrett.

This year Jeroen Dewulf, Queen Beatrix Professor in Dutch Studies and Associate Professor in German Studies at the University of California, will be acknowledged as a finalist for the manuscript, The Pinkster King and the King of Kongo: African-American Performance Culture and the Master-Slave Relationship in Dutch-American Society from New Amsterdam to New York.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *