State and Local History Awards Announced

By on

LeadershipInHistory_004The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) has announced the winners of the 69th annual Leadership in History Awards, which recognizes achievement in the preservation and interpretation of state and local history.

This year, AASLH conferred seventy-seven national awards honoring people, projects, exhibits, books, and organizations. The only winner in New York State was Laurence M. Hauptman for the publication In the Shadow of Kinzua: The Seneca Nation of Indians since World War II. In contrast, Pennsylvania had 10 awardees.

The Leadership in History Awards Program was initiated in 1945 to establish and encourage standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history throughout America. Each nomination is peer-reviewed by AASLH’s state captains. Final awards are decided by the Awards Committee, comprised of AASLH’s fourteen regional representatives and the National Awards Chair.

The awards include:

  • The Award of Merit which is presented for excellence in history programs, projects, and people when compared with similar activities nationwide;
  • The Albert B. Corey Award, named in honor of a founder and former president of AASLH, which recognizes primarily volunteer-operated historical organizations that best display the qualities of vigor, scholarship, and imagination in their work.
  • The HIP (History in Progress) Award is an award given at the discretion of the awards committee to 5% or less of the total winners of the Award of Merit for a project that is highly inspirational, exhibits exceptional scholarship, and/or is exceedingly entrepreneurial in terms of funding, partnerships, or collaborations, creative problem solving, or unusual project design and inclusiveness.

See the full list of recipients by state.

Presentation of the awards will be made at a special banquet during the 2014 AASLH Annual Meeting in St. Paul, Minnesota, on Friday, September 19. The banquet is supported by a contribution from the History Channel.

AASLH is a not-for-profit professional organization of individuals and institutions working to preserve and promote history. From its headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee, AASLH works to advance knowledge, understanding, and appreciation of local history in America. AASLH publishes books, technical publications, a quarterly magazine, and monthly newsletter. The association also sponsors regional and national training workshops and an annual meeting. For more information on the awards program and AASLH, visit

2 thoughts on “State and Local History Awards Announced

  1. J F Sefcik

    AASLH awards are like the lottery: if you don’t buy a ticket, in this case submit an application, you can’t win. It doesn’t mean Pennsylvania has better programs than New York; it just means that more applications were submitted from PA than from NY.
    So local historical societies, museums, etc. should be encouraged to submit their programs, publications, etc. each year for peer review and ultimate recognition. Maybe next year The Empire State will garner more rewards and greater recognition. Can’t win if you don’t play! And you never know!

  2. Peter Wisbey

    I was the AASLH regional rep. for NYS from 2008-2012 and helped guide some notable entries through the awards process. Used to send three or four up the review chain annually. To my knowledge, New York State has not had an AASLH representative since I finished my term two years ago. It is a shame that New York State institutions do not have a direct voice within this national professional organization.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *