Historic Districts Council Design Award Winners Named

By on

Weeksville Heritage CenterThe Historic Districts Council has announced the winners of their inaugural Design Awards. These awards celebrate projects that broaden perceptions of the possibilities of design in historic settings.

For this year’s program, the jury selected three winning projects and four that merited an honorable mention. The Design Awards were presented on March 7, at Steelcase, and the three winning projects were presented to an audience of more than 100 community activists and professionals as part of the 20th annual HDC Preservation Conference on Saturday March 8.

The winners of the 2014 Design Awards are Historic Front Street at the South Street Seaport by COOKFOX Architects, McCarren Pool and Bathhouse by Marvel Architects and Weeksville Heritage Center by Caples Jefferson Architects.

The honorable mention awardees are Corbin Building by Page Ayres Cowley Architects, Gertrude Ederle Recreation Center by Belmont Freeman Architects, Wythe Hotel by Morris Adjmi Architects and 48 Bond by Deborah Berke Partners

The Design Awards jury was chaired by James Stewart Polshek, FAIA. The jury also included architects Leo J. Blackman, AIA, principal at Leo J. Blackman Architects; Jean Carroon, FAIA LEED, principal, Goody Clancy and Adam Yarinsky, FAIA LEED AP, Principal at Architecture Research Office. Completing the jury were Alan G. Brake, Executive Editor of The Architect’s Newspaper and Andrew Scott Dolkart, Director of Columbia University’s Historic Preservation program in the Graduate School of Architect, Planning & Preservation.

For additional information including photos and jury quotes on each project, visit this page.

Photo: Weeksville Heritage Center, Caples Jefferson Architects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *