Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) will transform its historic 1849 National Register-listed Stone Mill with lights, linens, great food, and music to host its 25th Anniversary “rustic-elegant” Gala event on Saturday August 1, 2015.
Located behind AARCH’s office building, this 11,000-square-foot mill overlooking the Ausable River once produced horseshoe nails for the Ausable Horse Nail Company and was at the center of the village’s economy for more than eighty years. The company’s success resulted from a number of forces and factors that all came together here. Iron from local mines, smelted with local charcoal, provided the raw material for the nails. Keeseville blacksmith Daniel Dodge invented a machine to mass produce horse nails and the Ausable River provided the power to run the mill’s machinery. After the company closed in 1923, the building became part of the R. Prescott and Sons complex, a furniture company that made radio and television cabinets in the 20th century. That company closed in the 1960s. Continue reading
This week “The Historians” podcast features an interview with Steven Engelhart of Adirondack Architectural Heritage. Steven has fascinating comments on Adirondack structures – bridges, fire towers, great camps and even prisons. You can listen to the show here. Continue reading
Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) is seeking nominations for their 2015 Historic Preservation awards. The organization looks to recognize historic buildings that have been well-cared for over time, or brought back to life.
Projects, large and small, completed in the Adirondack region during the past two years are eligible for consideration. Continue reading
Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) is welcoming springtime with two new tour offerings, free of charge and open to all.
Led by local guides and historians, participants will walk around the villages of Champlain and Rouses Point to learn the stories of their history and development through their architecture. Continue reading
Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) will welcome renowned architect Nils Luderowski to AARCH’s Clayton Family Gallery in Keeseville, NY.
Luderowski specializes in architecture and design in an Adirondack vernacular and this exhibition features a uniquely expressive series of drawings from a variety of the architect’s regional projects. Continue reading
Friends of the Old Stone Barracks (FOSB) has announced the results of their request for proposals and a new life for Plattsburgh’s Old Stone Barracks.
FOSB has come to an agreement with Terry Schmaltz and Mary Theresa Pearl, proprietors of Valcour Brewing Company, and will assign the contract to purchase the Old Stone Barracks to them. Pearl is originally from Plattsburgh and both she and Schmaltz are retired Army officers. Continue reading
The Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) Awards Program annually recognizes exemplary historic preservation work throughout the Adirondack Park. AARCH seeks examples of sensitive restoration, rehabilitation, and demonstrated long-term stewardship.
Program Director Kate Ritter highlights this event as “a celebration of the work and care that individuals and organizations have put into a variety of historic resources throughout the Adirondack region.” Continue reading
Last week, following the announcement that the Old Stone Barracks in Plattsburgh was named to the Preservation League of New York State’s “Seven to Save” list, The Friends of the Old Stone Barracks announced that it has launched a campaign to purchase the property from its private owner. Continue reading
Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) invites you to discover the diverse and rich architectural heritage that exists throughout the Adirondack Park.
Guided trips this August to Wanakena’s Knollwood, Raquette Lake’s Long Point, and Plattsburgh’s historic landmarks are filling up quickly, yet openings still remain for two favorites, The Legacy of William and Alice Miner in Chazy on August 5th, and Lyon Mountain on August 12th. Continue reading
Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) will host four tours of Great Camp Santanoni in Newcomb. Built for Robert and Anna Pruyn of Albany beginning in 1892, Santanoni eventually included 12,900 acres and nearly four-dozen buildings.
The first tour will be held this Saturday, June 28, 2014. There will be three additional tours on July 25, August 16, and September 5th. Continue reading