A public tour of the abandoned and historic St. Mary’s Convent and Chapel, sponsored by the Peekskill Museum, will be held on Saturday June 25, 2016 at 11 am, rain or shine. The tour site is located on Chateau Rive Road in Peekskill. Continue reading
New York State’s rich cultural heritage and historic waterways will be central to a new, unique grant opportunity available through July 29 in a first-time inter-agency collaboration between the New York State Council on the Arts (NYSCA) and the NYS Canal Corporation.
The Erie Canal Bicentennial Grant Opportunity will award funds to organizations producing, presenting or exhibiting arts and cultural activities as part of the ongoing Erie Canal Bicentennial (ECB) Celebration 2017-2025. The opportunity is available through the NYSCA REDC program, which is dedicated to the promotion of economic development through the arts. Continue reading
Although it played a highly significant role in the settling and development of the Capital Region, Fort Crailo, the birthplace of “Yankee Doodle” and the manorial seat for generations for one branch of the Van Rensselaer family, remains relatively little known, even within the Capital Region itself.
Shirley W. Dunn’s new book, Fort Crailo and the Van Rensselaers: The Dutch Colonial Origins of Greenbush & the City of Rensselaer (Black Dome Press, 2016) traces the history of Crailo and the Van Rensselaers from the years leading up to the building of Fort Crailo in 1663, through the war years and through the many additions and renovations over the centuries and generations of Van Rensselaers, to the present day in its role as the museum of Dutch history in the Hudson River Valley. Continue reading
The Lower Manhattan Historical Society (the LMHS), in conjunction with the Bowling Green Association, the Sons of the Revolution of the State Of New York, The New York Veteran Corps of Artillery, the Sons of the American Revolution and Culture Now, has announced a set of historical activities in Lower Manhattan for the July 4, 2016 weekend. Continue reading
The National Abolition Hall of Fame and Museum (NAHOF) will present a program at 2 pm Saturday, June 18 about the March on Washington August 28, 1963 to accompany the Smithsonian’s traveling exhibition “Changing America: The Emancipation Proclamation, 1863 and the March on Washington, 1963.” NAHOF extends a special invitation to people who have memories of the March to bring those recollections, experiences, souvenirs, etc. to the program to share. Continue reading
The first exhibit of Lilac’s 2016 season is Defending New York Harbor, a selection of photographs by Richard Golden. An opening reception will be held on board Lilac on Thursday, June 16 from 5 to 7 pm. The exhibit runs through July 31st.
New York Harbor has been a prize worth attacking since the earliest days of European colonization. In the 1790s, the United States responded to threats by building massive coastal defenses around the Harbor. The Upper Bay, the Narrows, the Lower Bay, Long Island Sound and New York City’s Atlantic shore possess more surviving coastal fortifications built over a longer period of time than anywhere else in the country. The striking photographs in this exhibit show the current condition of these historic structures. Continue reading
Hanford Mills Museum will hold the first of four Free Family Saturdays on June 18. The event offers hands-on activities for families as well as tours and demonstrations of the Mill’s historic water-powered sawmill, gristmill and woodworking shop.
The event is part of the statewide Path Through History, which showcases New York’s rich heritage. Hanford Mills Museum is on the Path Through History’s Innovation and Commerce track, because it highlights the how the Mill used a variety of power sources, including waterwheels, water turbines, steam power and gas engines, over its 121-year history as a business. Continue reading
In his new book, Bruce W. Dearstyne presents New York State history by exploring sixteen dramatic events. From the launch of the state government in April 1777 to the tragedy of September 11, 2001, these events altered the course of state and US history.
Chapters describe great political changes, historical turning points, and struggles for social, racial, and environmental reform. Continue reading
Join the Clinton County Historical Association (CCHA) on Tuesday, June 14th at the Plattsburgh Public Library for a book signing and encore presentation of Welcome to the Witherill with Sue Howell Hamlin.
The presentation features rarely seen photographs of Plattsburgh’s Witherill Hotel and its owners, the Howell family, in addition to stories from Sue regarding her time spent as a child living at the hotel. Continue reading
Johnson Hall State Historic Site has opened for the 2016 season, offering tours of the historic mansion on Wednesday through Saturday from 10am to 5pm, and Sunday from 1 pm to 5 pm. Tours begin on the hour, with the last tour of each day beginning at 4 pm. Pre-registered groups and Site special events may alter this tour schedule. Continue reading