Rockland History: Marydell Sisters of Upper Nyack


By on

crossroads of rockland historyThis month on “Crossroads of Rockland History,” Clare Sheridan featured “Marydell-Over 90 Years-Serving-Mentoring-Caring!” the new exhibition at the Historical Society of the Nyacks.

Suzanne Belisle, assistant exhibition curator, and Sister Veronica Mendez, President of the Sisters of Our Lady of Christian Doctrine spoke about the retrospective, which traces the work of the Marydell Sisters of Upper Nyack for more than 90 years, from the restoration of a derelict farm, to establishing a summer camp for immigrants, to creating the Marydell Faith and Life Center and transferring 30 acres to the Palisades Park Commission, and everything in between. They spoke about the remarkable collection of photographs, newspaper articles, and similar memorabilia in  the exhibition. They also described the replica of the Sisters’ Peace Pole, the gnomes from the famous “Gnomes of Marydell,” memorialized in song by the former Nyacker John Babcock and a tribute to the Sisters’ 9-year-old pit bull they adopted from Hi-Tor shelter.

For more information about the exhibition or the Historical Society of the Nyacks, visit their website.

Listen to the podcast here.

Crossroads of Rockland History, a program of the Historical Society of Rockland County, airs on the third Monday of each month at 9:30 am, right after the morning show, on WRCR radio at www.WRCR.com. Join host Clare Sheridan as we explore, celebrate, and learn about our local history, with different topics and guest speakers every month.

The Historical Society of Rockland County is a nonprofit educational institution and principal repository for original documents and artifacts relating to Rockland County. Its headquarters are a four-acre site featuring a history museum and the 1832 Jacob Blauvelt House in New City, New York.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *