On Sunday, July 20th at 1:00 P.M., a walking tour through Newburgh’s East End Historic District will start from the Captain David Crawford House, the headquarters of the Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands. Members of the Society will guide the public through a one mile walk as they peel back the image of the present to showcase the city’s past.
Newburgh’s historic district is the second largest in the State of New York, comprising of over 1,000 buildings. The Society’s tour is a concise sample of local history covering businesses, cemeteries, churches, residences, and schools. An itinerary was organized to show the community the part Newburgh played in design, development, and the story of the area. Along the way, Newburgh’s characters will be discussed and buildings highlighted in their context.
The group will have time during the tour for discussion and to take a break on the lawn of the Old 1841 Courthouse, now known as the Newburgh Heritage Center.
The Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands was launched unofficially when the Hasbrouck House (Washington’s Headquarters Newburgh) was in danger of demolition after the Revolutionary War. The current Society, incorporated in 1884, has always been an advocate for Newburgh’s history. Their headquarters, the 1830 Captain David Crawford House, which they purchased in 1954 to save it from demolition, symbolizes their dedication to preserving and protecting Newburgh’s assets.
The Crawford House, located at 189 Montgomery Street within the City of Newburgh historic district, is opened for tours on Sundays between 1:00 P.M. and 4:00 P.M. during the 2014 season. View the “Made in Newburgh” exhibit, a temporary display open to the public between June 22nd and August 30, 2014. Admission is $5.00 per person. For more information about admission, tours, or programming please call (845) 561-2585.
Photo: Early image of a home located on Montgomery Street (provided).