Following the success of last year’s open house ski weekends at historic Great Camp Santanoni, located off Route 28N in Newcomb (Essex County) in the Central Adirondacks, they are being offered again this year. Over two more weekends, visitors can arrive at their leisure and enjoy a self-guided trip from the Gate Lodge, past the Farm and on to the Main Lodge.
On the far side of the Lodge is the Artist’s Studio, where cross-country skiers and snowshoers will be able to warm up before the return trip. Staff will be on hand to answer questions, discuss the ongoing restoration and offer impromptu tours of the Main Lodge.
The remaining “open house weekends” are February 15-17, and March 15-16. Suggested hours of visitation at the Main Lodge are 10 am to 3 pm each day. This event is made possible by the work of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, Adirondack Architectural Heritage, the Town of Newcomb, and the Adirondack Ecological Center.
Santanoni was built for Robert and Anna Pruyn of Albany beginning in 1892. The estate eventually included 12,900 acres and nearly four-dozen buildings. The Santanoni Preserve is a State Historic Site, on the National Register of Historic Places, and a National Historic Landmark. AARCH has long been associated with the protection, interpretation and restoration of this regional treasure. The round-trip ski is 9.8 miles on a gently sloping carriage road. There is no fee and reservations are not required. For more information please contact AARCH at 518-834-9238 or email@example.com.